So Bioshock Infinite Was Announced…

Bioshock was/is one of my favorite games of all-time. Are the mechanics perfect? No, not by a long shot, but the world of Rapture in that game was so well thought out and so interesting that nothing else mattered. The tale of that city was one of genius and tragedy, the rise and fall of Andrew Ryan. He had his ideals for a perfect city, one that would fall in upon itself.

“I am Andrew Ryan and I am here to ask you a question:
Is a man not entitled to the sweat of his brow?

No, says the man in Washington; it belongs to the poor.
No, says the man in the Vatican; it belongs to God.
No, says the man in Moscow; it belongs to everyone.

I rejected those answers. Instead, I chose something
different. I chose the impossible. I chose…

Rapture!

A city where the artist would not fear the censor.
Where the scientist would not be bound by petty morality.
Where the great would not be constrained by the small.
And with the sweat of your brow,
Rapture can become your city as well.”

Those were the first words you hear from Andrew and they weren’t the last. It was a great exploration of what might happen in a laissez-faire state with Ayn Rand ideals.

And now Irrational Games brings us Bioshock Infinite, a look at the floating city of “Columbia”. From what information has been given out, it takes place in 1912 in an era of American Exceptionalism. First trailer below and it looks really, really good.

This entry was posted in Video Games. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Bioshock Infinite Was Announced…

  1. LordRune says:

    Seriously? I don’t care what the naysayers or the jaded gamers have to say about this. I can sum up my feelings about Bioshock Infinite in one word/phrase/exclamation-thingy: SQUEEEEE! (Translation: I’m exceptionally happy about the news of this upcoming release. The direction, art style, and bare-bones plot known to me all tickle my fancy in just the right way. Viva La Bioshock, Viva La Levine!)

Leave a Reply

