2011 Emmy Noms! – There’s Some Good In There, I Swear

Let’s just get this thing started.

Outstanding Drama Series
Boardwalk Empire
Dexter
Friday Night Lights
Game of Thrones
The Good Wife
Mad Men

The only thing surprising here is Dexter. While I enjoyed last season quite a bit, I don’t know if it really deserved its nomination. If Breaking Bad had been in the running this year, it would’ve been interesting to see if it would’ve taken the spot of DEXTER or THE GOOD WIFE. The same goes for JUSTIFIED, which most certainly was robbed here. Even though I’ve never seen FRIDAY NIGHT LIGHTS, and I will soon, I guarantee it won’t win. It’ll go down as another show like THE WIRE, all the acclaim in the world, except for from The Emmys.

Outstanding Comedy Series
Big Bang Theory
Glee
Modern Family
The Office
Parks and Recreation
30 Rock

Excuse me for a moment as I weep with joy that PARKS AND RECREATION got a much justified nomination. That show’s only gotten better over time. I must say I’m sad to see LOUIE or COMMUNITY not get noms. They both could’ve bumped BIG BANG and THE OFFICE outta here.

Outstanding Actress in a Drama
Kathy Bates, Harry’s Law
Connie Britton, Friday Night Lights
Mireille Enos, The Killing
Mariska Hargitay, Law and Order: SVU
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
Elisabeth Moss, Mad Men

I’ve only got two things to say here. 1) Elisabeth Moss will win if she’s nominated for the episode “The Suitcase” and 2) why is Mireille Enos nominated? She played a dull, lifeless character, that would be one of the worst detectives in detective history, on a show that would slowly self-destruct before slapping every viewer in the face.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama
Kelly Macdonald, Boardwalk Empire
Archie Panjabi, The Good Wife
Christine Baranski, The Good Wife
Margo Martindale, Justified
Michelle Forbes, The Killing
Christina Hendricks, Mad Men

Michelle Forbes? Seriously? By the end of the show, she wasn’t that great. Maybe she got nominated from the first episode? I don’t get it, but a big congrats to Margo Martindale. She’s the woman that should most definitely win here. Watch any scene from this past season of JUSTIFIED and you’ll know why. Here, I’ll help you out.

Outstanding Actor in a Drama
Steve Buscemi, Boardwalk Empire
Kyle Chandler, Friday Night Lights
Michael C. Hall, Dexter
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Hugh Laurie, House
Timothy Olyphant, Justified

Now this is a good race, see, Bryan Cranston has won three times in a row for BREAKING BAD, but for some reason that show’s not able to be nominated this year. Personally, I’d love to see Jon Hamm get a long overdue win. If it went to either Timothy Olyphant or Steve Buscemi, well, I couldn’t complain there.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama
Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones
Josh Charles, The Good Wife
Alan Cumming, The Good Wife
Walton Goggins, Justified
John Slattery, Mad Men
Andrew Braugher, Men of a Certain Age

As much as I’d love to see Walton Goggins or John Slattery pick it up, there’s no real choice other than Peter Dinklage here.

Outstanding Actress in a Comedy
Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Laura Linney, The Big C
Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly
Martha Plimpton, Raising Hope
Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

ANOTHER PARKS AND REC NOM! I wouldn’t be surprised if Laura Linney won here though, the Emmy voters love people with disorders of some matter (Here being cancer). A few great choices here *COUGH*AMY POEHLER*COUGH*

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy
Jane Lynch, Glee
Betty White, Hot In Cleveland
Julie Bowen, Modern Family
Sofia Vergara, Modern Family
Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live
Jane Krakowski, 30 Rock

I adore Kristen Wiig, but I don’t think SNL had that strong of a year. I’ll save my Modern Family rant for a little while. This category really isn’t that strong this year aside from maybe Jane Lynch.

Outstanding Actor in a Comedy
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Louis C.K., Louie
Steve Carrell, The Office
Johnny Galecki, The Big Bang Theory
Matt LeBlanc, Episodes
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory

I don’t think anyone doubted Steve Carrell getting a nomination here, but I think that’s as far as he’ll go. Well, that is unless he gets the sentimental vote. Although he was really good in his last episode. Anyways, the interesting thing here is both Johnny Galecki AND Jim Parsons getting noms. The interesting thing is never hearing anything great about Galecki. That and the fact that Nick Offerman from PARKS AND RECREATION was flat out snubbed. Whatever, that’s the way the cookie crumbles, I suppose.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy
Chris Colfer, Glee
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family
Ed O’Neill, Modern Family
Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men

And we’re here now. Modern Family, a show that disappointed me so much last year, has SIX nominations between the two supporting categories in comedy. Not everyone needs to be nominated, and yes, I think they’re more talented than the scripts they were getting last year, but almost everyone in the cast is nominated. There’s a much better cast just a night and a channel ahead (PARKS AND RECREATION). Excellent people from last year’s season got robbed, such as, the aforementioned Nick Offerman, or even Danny Pudi from COMMUNITY. The only one from MODERN FAMILY I’m happy to see is Ty Burrell. He’s the only one on MODERN FAMILY to still make me laugh even when everything is boring me.

And before I forget, a big congrats to Idris Elba, who was on THE WIRE and got snubbed every year he was on. He picked up two nominations this year!

So, there you have it, ladies and gents. the 2011 Emmy nominations with a few thoughts from yours truly. Were you shocked, happy, or outraged by these nominations? Or did you just hate my writeup? Leave me a comment down below with what you’re thinking.

This entry was posted in TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

